top of page
Search

My Last Weekend in Paris

Two weeks ago from when I'm writing this was weekend is my last in Paris. (Apologies for the delayed post, I've been overwhelmed with schoolwork the past two weeks and have had barely a moment to write. Frankly, when I am writing this, I should be studying. Oops.) Despite the program being for another two weeks after the events of this post, I spent the last weekend of the program in Amsterdam, making it my last weekend in the city I've fallen so in love with. That meant that I had to make the most out of it.

On Wednesday night, Madeline, Annalee, and I went to a Parisian nightclub on the Seine that serves as an outdoor bar during the week. The club, Faust, was beautiful but incredibly expensive, so we only got one drink each, but I would say it was worth it. It was lovely just getting to sit with my friends and chat and it seemed unreal that we were doing so on the side of the Seine, the Eiffel Tower visible and glowing in the night sky.






Thursday night, the U.S. was playing again in the world cup so a group of us met up at a restaurant to eat, drink, and watch the game. Of course the U.S. won again, and I treasured every minute of getting to sit and laugh with my friends, several of which live on other sides of the country from me. At the restaurant we met a family that was visiting Paris from Missouri and Annie, hailing from Missouri herself, struck up a passionate conversation with then about their home state. They asked us for recommendations abut food and transportation and asking us why we where there. After about half an hour of talking, they wished us luck with the rest of our program and went on their way. It's always refreshing to encounter Americans in Paris, because they're always so friendly. Not that Parisians are mean, but they don't like to make small talk. But boy, do Americans love it.


Friday was the first day of the weekend and I had many plans. In the morning Rosie, another OSU student, and I met with Audrey, an OSU French professor from Paris for coffee. I still have a hard time getting used to walking down the street and just seeing the Eiffel Tower appear between buildings, as I did on my walk to meet them for coffee.



The coffee date itself was lovely, the three of us talking about what we wanted to do after graduating, and making a pact to stay in touch afterwards; Rosie wants to be a French professor for a college and myself a French teacher, and Audrey explained that we had to share our lessons with one another and help each other out. It was a really cool thing for her to say, especially since it had been four semesters since she'd had me in class. That day we also had our potluck with our host families at the IES center. There was a good amount of people there, all bringing different french dishes. While in Paris I've discovered my absolute ADORATION for Tabbouleh. I had it twice that day, once at the potluck and again for dinner. It was really nice getting to meet my friends' host families. I have to believe that the host families are previously acquainted with each other, whether that be from doing this for a while, or having met previously, as the host families spoke strictly to each other rather than to their students, and seemed to get along very well.

Friday night was the Festival de Musique in Paris. All throughout the city, bands and artists set up and play their music for free inside and outside of restaurants and bars, crowds gathering around to watch and listen. A group of us decided to picnic by the Seine, another one of my favorite things I've done in Paris. I've found that it's the little things that stick with you the most; the moments with friends, talking and just living in the moment. We were just another group in a mass of people picnicking by the water, the Eiffel Tower visible in the distance. We were there for about two hours before we finally decided to find some music. The streets were so crowded, people drinking, smoking, singing, and enjoying the summer night. We heard so much American music, like House of the Rising Sun, Proud Mary, and more. At the end of the night, we fond ourself at a pride dance party, smoke machines and strobe lights hanging our of windows above head, pride flags and drag queens everywhere you looked. Above the center of the street hung a disco ball that glowed with the lights and reflected them on the people down below. When we returned home, we were exhausted but incredibly content with the events of our night.



Saturday was our day trip to Reims with IES, the city where the majority of French kings were crowned in the Cathedral in the small city. It was beautiful to see, the age of the Cathedral evident in the discoloration of the stone . When we went inside, we discovered that a confirmation mass was just ending, children dressed in white gowns spilling out of the Cathedral and onto the street. We had about an hour to explore the city and find lunch before we were bussed to the Taittinger Champagne Cellars for a tour and wine tasting.



The experience was incredible, the cellars far below the ground, dating back to the 13th and 4th centuries, having once sat beneath a monastery that used the same caves to store wine and champagne hundreds of years ago. It also served as a hide out during World War II, before eventually being bought by Taittinger and now housing some of the finest champagne in the world. Our tour guide explained to us the process of making and storing champagne, something more complicated that I ever dared to consider. It only makes you appreciate the drink more, having an understanding of the love and labor that goes into making it. And don't even get me started on the taste...







On Saturday night, a group of us met up for one last night on the town on Rue Princesse, a small street lined with bars and pubs. We had a wonderful time, sitting around and laughing together, soaking in the Parisian night air and the sixties and seventies American music that filled the room.


As action-packed as that last real weekend in Paris was, I treasure every moment. I feel so fortunate to have found people here with whom I can be open and honest and feel like I'm home, even when I'm several continents and an ocean away from Ohio. Fortunately, 14 of us hail from OSU, so I'm sure we'll get together when we're back on campus, but I'm dreading having to say goodbye to Annalee, Madeline, and Denisse, and my other friends who go to school all over the country. We joke that we'll need to all meet up in Paris for a five year IES reunion. I think I might have to make that happen.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page