top of page
Search

My Last Week of IES Abroad

As I'm writing this, I've wrapped up my program. To be completely honest, I have mixed feelings. As sad as I am that its done, after all I've spent the past six years of my life dreaming of studying in Paris, I can say with confidence that I'm ready. In the ten days since the program ended, I've been to Rome and back to Paris with my mom, continuing my adventure and adding more chapters to this story. Today is actually our last day in Paris-- we fly out tomorrow afternoon-- and I'll write more about my feelings on leaving in another post, but I don't feel like there was anything I didn't get to do, and for that (and countless other things) I'm incredibly grateful. But more on that in a later post.

My last week of IES was one filled with work. Monday night was our farewell dinner for the program, but it didn't really feel like a goodbye because we still had two days of classes and finals on Thursday. The restaurant was stunning but I had to admit, I wasn't a fan of the food, and since it all contained a lot of dairy... well let's just say that dairy and my body don't mix well. But I had a really great time getting to sit and chat with all of my friends before we dove deep into studying for our final exams.




Tuesday and Wednesday were uneventful, filled with final classes and studying for my two exams as well as packing up to go to Rome. Madeline and I ate our last meals with our host parents, who requested that if we ever return to Paris that we look them up.

Thursday came both too quickly and too slowly. Before I knew it, it was the fourth of July and my last official day of IES. I woke up early to get in some last minute cramming before pulling on my red jumpsuit, white sneakers, and denim shirt-- Hell, even if I was in France, I was going to be patriotic. At the center, I did more last minute cramming with Denisse and Annalee before we went into our history exam. I finished in 25 minutes. Granted, our professor had told us the answers to the questions the week before so we knew exactly what to study. However, I don't think I've ever finished an exam that quickly.

Grammar was another story. Once we'd all finished the exams, taking the whole hour-and-a-half time slot or longer, we all turned to each other and asked, "What the hell was that?" I was so mentally exhausted that I could barely think anymore, but I couldn't help but be incredibly relieved that I was finally done. Thankfully I'd almost finished packing the day before, because I had known that when I returned to the apartment after exams the last thing I would want to do was pack. That night, Madeline and I met up with Hannah, Annalee, Naomi, Sravya, and Rosie for one last night together, getting drinks at a bar right across from the Eiffel Tower. We talked for two hours, treasuring ever minute we had together before we had to finally say goodbye. Fortunately for me 14 people in the program are from OSU, meaning I'll get to see them on campus and we can coordinate get-togethers. However, three of the people I grew the closest with in this experience are from all over the country. Madeline goes to school in Florida, Annalee in Missouri, and Denisse in North Carolina. As much as I hope to see them again those goodbyes were incredibly difficult.

We finished off our night taking photographs in front of the Eiffel Tower at Trocadero, getting individual and group pictures with everyone. We watched the Eiffel Tower sparkle in the night sky before walking together to the metro for the last time.



Friday morning Madeline and I woke early to finish packing up and get to the airport by 8. Mom was flying in at 8:40 and Madeline's flight left at 10:15. As I made my last rounds in my homestay, it sunk in for the first time that the program was really, truly over.

But with the end of one adventure comes another, and this one brought with my mom to Europe. After I’d dropped Madeline off at her gate, I made my trek through Charles de Gaulle to the gate where my mom would be arriving. I watched, soy cappuccinos and homemade sign in hand as she walked through the doors and joined me in Paris.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page